This Site De-listed on Google Due to Wordpress Flaw

Apr
08
2008

A few weeks ago, I saw a notice that there was a security flaw in Wordpress that needed patching. Unfortunately, I've been dealing with lots of stuff that trumps site maintenance and I didn't get to it until last week.

Apparently that was too late because as I sat down to upgrade/patch Wordpress, I saw that one of the most recent posts (one on the front page) had tons of spammy text hidden from view with CSS. As that was a telltale sign of having the site exploited.

So, I quickly changed a bunch of passwords and went looking for other posts that had similar text in them and found none. Having cleaned up the mess, changed passwords and upgraded Wordpress, I moved on.

Then, yesterday, I checked in on my Adsense revenue. I only do that once every couple of weeks as it's pretty consistent. What I saw was disturbing. The number of page impressions was WAY down. As I had more pressing matters to look at (it's tax season, ya know), I made a mental note to check it out in more detail this morning.

It was then that I found that the drop in traffic actually dated back to April 3. On every day since then, the traffic was a fraction of normal. Instead of hanging out just south of 3000 page views a day, it was closer to 500. Uh oh.

I headed to the normal site stats and noticed that somehow, MSN's Live.com was now the highest source of referrals. Hmm. Where were the Google links?

Sure enough, a search for "site:wynia.org" returned absolutely no results. Yikes.

I went looking for an explanation and discovered that I wasn't alone. Others had been booted from Google because of their Wordpress installation getting hacked. A few more searches and the comments on that past revealed that I needed to use the Google Webmaster Tools to resubmit the site.

I did that, but am uncertain exactly when or if the 1000+ pages of this site will reappear in Google. That's because there's no way to actually test whether you got all of the offending content. They just give you an "example" of the kind of thing that got you de-listed.

They just point you to the webmaster guidelines. That's all fine and good if the reason you were removed was deliberate action. However, in this case, even Google indicates that they know it wasn't a result of my actually building the pages this way:

"This appears to be because your site has been modified by a third party."

Beyond that, from what I can see, it was that single post on the front page of the site that triggered the blacklisting. A single page out of 1000+ (that was up in it's incorrect form for less than 48 hours) causing the complete removal from the index is something that strikes me as not exactly in keeping with the motto "don't be evil".

So, I guess what I'd really like is if anyone sees this problem here on the site, PLEASE let me know so I can get this all cleaned up.

 

Comments on this post

Feedback is always welcome. Read some from other folks or leave your own below. Just keep things civil and remember that what you post lives on in public. Forever.

Thanks,
J

2 Responses to “This Site De-listed on Google Due to Wordpress Flaw”

  1. Robert Nagle Says:

    One of my fiction sites got delisted from google for different reasons. I think I understand what happened (too trivial to go into), but it was scary how opaque google is about procedures for identifying splogs.

    On another note, if google is penalizing duplicated content, and if splogs are reproducing your stuff willy-nilly, is google really a useful tool anymore? I still try doing search on other search engines; more and more I'm finding every search engine except Google to be helpful.

    (Alternatively, sites like stumbleupon and delicious allow fuzzy browsing. Why the heck do we need search engines anymore these days?)

  2. Penalizing Spam Links, Etc, Etc | Idiotprogrammer Says:

    [...] Wynia notices that not updating your blogging software can result in delisting from google. Here's a google guide about how to make sure your website is playing [...]

Leave Your Own Comment

By submitting a comment, you agree to license it under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution license.

© 2003-2008 J Wynia. All original content is licensed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution license unless otherwise noted. Content from other sources is licensed under its original terms.